top of page

Somewhere Only We Know - Maurene Goo

Book Synopsis: 10:00 p.m.: Lucky is the biggest K-pop star on the scene, and she's just performed her hit song "Heartbeat" in Hong Kong to thousands of adoring fans. She's about to debut on The Later Tonight Show in America, hopefully a breakout performance for her career. But right now? She's in her fancy hotel, trying to fall asleep but dying for a hamburger. 11:00 p.m.: Jack is sneaking into a fancy hotel, on assignment for his tabloid job that he keeps secret from his parents. On his way out of the hotel, he runs into a girl wearing slippers, a girl who is single-mindedly determined to find a hamburger. She looks kind of familiar. She's very cute. He's maybe curious. 12:00 a.m.: Nothing will ever be the same.

 

So why don't we go, somewhere only we know.

I loved that song by Keane, and I still love it. When Maurene Goo first posted about this book on Instagram, I knew I had to have it - honestly, I think I even want to go out and buy a copy. Definitely cannot wait until the audiobook comes out!

Maurene Goo's best book yet!

Spoiler, but not spoiler: Jack + Lucky forever!

Super cute read, and I really adored this book and wished that it was longer. There's something so magical about the setting of Hong Kong and the K-Pop Industry.

Also the fact that Jack's moonlighting side job (which I won't be giving away) was so perfectly executed. All of the food related scenes were the most relatable for me and the descriptive language really was the cherry on top of that egg waffle.

One of the most memorable moments for me was a line from Lucky about a certain Disney movie that is releasing soon this year. Never have I smiled so much, or enjoyed a wonderful journey that was this story.

If you have a few hours, you should read this story.

We'll talk about it somewhere only we know.

My only hope for this book is that Maurene Goo allows this to be made into a Korean drama or a live action movie, I'd love to see that happen, even something small on Netflix would satisfy me.

Seriously cannot wait to see what Maurene Goo has next for her readers, I love the whole Asian girl representation, it makes me so happy and I would definitely read more of her works in the future.

Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 Stars!

bottom of page