top of page

The Storyteller's Secret - Sejal Badani


From the bestselling author of Trail of Broken Wings comes an epic story of the unrelenting force of love, the power of healing, and the invincible desire to dream. Book Synopsis: Nothing prepares Jaya, a New York journalist, for the heartbreak of her third miscarriage and the slow unraveling of her marriage in its wake. Desperate to assuage her deep anguish, she decides to go to India to uncover answers to her family’s past. Intoxicated by the sights, smells, and sounds she experiences, Jaya becomes an eager student of the culture. But it is Ravi—her grandmother’s former servant and trusted confidant—who reveals the resilience, struggles, secret love, and tragic fall of Jaya’s pioneering grandmother during the British occupation. Through her courageous grandmother’s arrestingly romantic and heart-wrenching story, Jaya discovers the legacy bequeathed to her and a strength that, until now, she never knew was possible.

 

Thank you to iRead Book Tours and Sejal Badani for gifting me a free paperback copy of this book, The Storyteller's Secret in exchange for a completely honest and unbiased review.

When I first heard of this book, I saw that the picture of the cover was so beautiful and right away, I knew that it would be something that I'd be interested in reading.

This story broke my heart, mended it, and unapologetically broke it all over again.

While I was reading, my first thought was that Jaya was one of the strongest female main characters that I've ever read about. As you can see from the description alone, Jaya is amazingly tough.

In the Thai language, the word jaiya means medicine for the heart, which was fitting because of the journey that Jaya goes through, her heartbreak and the medicine she possesses within to overcome the struggles.

Ever since I read the book 96 Words For Love, I've been wanting to read something else about India, and The Storyteller's Secret captured the country beautifully.

In the prologue of this book, not to spoil or give anything away, but that last scene of the beginning absolutely destroyed me - I felt the emotions that she was feeling, almost as if it was happening to me.

I love how deeply I was able to connect and relate my emotions to Jaya's and I think that's what made this book so great. Each word and action echoed with me and resonated in my heart - the pain and suffering that Jaya went through, I feel like I was there, holding her hand, experiencing it with her.

How wonderfully special this book was to me, and I will definitely recommend it to everyone who loves to read books about culture and the past, and anyone who has ever dealt with the anguish of heartbreak - this is no secret, you should read this book.

You can find this book on Amazon.com or any local bookstore near you or any online retailer you can shop at! I'd like to extend my sincerest thanks to the author Sejal Badani for sending me a copy of her book, and I know that her words in this story will leave an impression on your very heart.

Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 Stars!

bottom of page