top of page

Sherwood - Meagan Spooner


Book Synopsis: Robin of Locksley is dead. Maid Marian doesn’t know how she’ll go on, but the people of Locksley town, persecuted by the Sheriff of Nottingham, need a protector. And the dreadful Guy of Gisborne, the Sheriff’s right hand, wishes to step into Robin’s shoes as Lord of Locksley and Marian’s fiancé. Who is there to stop them? Marian never meant to tread in Robin’s footsteps—never intended to stand as a beacon of hope to those awaiting his triumphant return. But with a sweep of his green cloak and the flash of her sword, Marian makes the choice to become her own hero: Robin Hood.

 

Robin Hood is the stuff of legends. I'm sure most of you have seen the Disney movie version of the animated fox, or maybe the Robin Hood and his Merry Men, or perhaps you've never even heard of the caped archer.

Well, let me tell you, I've read a Meagan Spooner book in the past, but nothing could prepare me for this. In the past, I have truly loved her work and Sherwood is no exception.

Color me surprised when I find out that Harper Teen published this book instead of Disney Hyperion. If Hollywood were to make this into a movie, I would be first in line to watch it - of course, I have no idea if that will happen, but a girl can dream.

Maid Marian was one of my favorite characters in the Robin Hood folklore, throughout time she has aged like a fine wine and gotten better. Meagan Spooner's adaptation and take on the story of Robin Hood with a twist is inspiring, and has cemented its role as being one of my favorite books that I've read for this year.

What worked, clearly almost every aspect... my only complaint is a minor one and I'm sure a lot of people would agree if they were to read this book too.

Not to give too much away, I would say that the death of a certain hero is comparable to the ending of a certain movie that came out this year *not naming any names.

It was amazing to see how the re-imagined world of Robin Hood played out in Sherwood and how Marian was able to fill the shoes of her hero - I loved every minute of it, and I think that many readers will too.

This book shattered my expectations as it quickly shot its way into becoming my favorite book of Meagan Spooner's.

Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 Stars!


bottom of page