top of page

Meet Cute - Helena Hunting


Book Synopsis: Talk about an embarrassing introduction. On her first day of law school, Kailyn ran - quite literally - into the actor she crushed on as a teenager, ending with him sprawled on top of her. Mortified to discover the Daxton Hughes was also a student in her class, her embarrassment over their meet-cute quickly turned into a friendship she never expected. Of course, she never saw his betrayal coming either... Now, eight years later, Dax is in her office asking for legal advice. Despite her anger, Kailyn can't help feeling sorry for the devastated man who just became sole guardian to his thirteen-year-old sister. But when her boss gets wind of Kailyn's new celebrity client, there's even more at stake than Dax's custody issues: if she gets Dax to work at their firm, she'll be promoted to partner. The more time Kailyn spends with Dax and his sister, the more she starts to feel like a family, and the more she realizes the chemistry they had all those years ago is as fresh as ever. But will they be able to forgive the mistakes of the past, or will one betrayal lead to another?

 

After much anticipation, I finally got around to reading this book!

Such a wonderful and clean story! After reading Helen Hoang's The Kiss Quotient, I wasn't sure what to expect from Helena Hunting.

Obviously they are two very different writers with unique styles, but the reason that I choose to compare the two author's is because of the feedback on Instagram.

Honestly, I wasn't a fan of Helen Hoang's book, but Helena Hunting definitely nailed this book on the head - I loved every minute of it!

This was probably the most fun I've had reading a book in a long time. Yes, it was highly predictable, but I enjoyed it anyway! All the characters were so well developed and thought out.

Kailyn Flowers and Daxton Hughes' romantic relationship and history definitely caught my attention. Also, Emme is definitely my favorite character - she's snarky, sarcastic, yet sweet and she definitely made life more interesting for her older brother Dax.

Everything about this book was perfection - right down to the twist.

If I could spend all day re-reading only one book, I would definitely be occupied reading this - I definitely - 100% want to buy this book myself.

Since it is Spring, I definitely want to shift my reading tastes over to the lighter, more Contemporary Romance type of novels, rather than sticking with Mystery as a main genre.

As you can see, I'm going to be reading Helena's other books in the near future!

My 2019 TBR List is fluctuating as the days go by. What are you waiting for? Go and read this book! It is worth it, to be spending a rainy day reading.

Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 Stars!

bottom of page