top of page

Come Find Me - Megan Miranda


Book Synopsis: After surviving an infamous family tragedy, sixteen-year-old Kennedy Jones has made it her mission to keep her brother's search through the cosmos alive. But then something disturbs the frequency on his radio telescope--a pattern registering where no signal should transmit. In a neighboring county, seventeen-year-old Nolan Chandler is determined to find out what really happened to his brother, who disappeared the day after Nolan had an eerie premonition. There hasn't been a single lead for two years, until Nolan picks up an odd signal--a pattern coming from his brother's bedroom. Drawn together by these strange signals--and their family tragedies--Kennedy and Nolan search for the origin of the mysterious frequency. But the more they uncover, the more they believe that everything's connected--even their pasts--as it appears the signal is meant for them alone, sharing a message that only they can understand. Is something coming for them? Or is the frequency warning them about something that's already here?

 

I've been really into these types of books lately, earlier this year, I was on a mystery kick. Now it seems that I've gone to the contemporary/paranormal/mystery/sci-fi genre.

It's very rare that I read something so far fetched that it's almost thought provoking. Honestly, if it wasn't for the cover or the alluring title, I wouldn't have picked it up. So, this is definitely not the kind of subject that I gravitate towards. I pretty much went into this whole thing unassuming, I didn't know what it was about, just that the cover intrigued me. It reminded me of Sara Shepard's The Amateurs series, those vibes came off strong and I was instantly reminded of how much I love mystery fused with something sinister (not in real life though, fiction is fine).

Let's talk about the cover of the edition that I read. Come Find Me has an ALL-CAPS font with a single slash through each of the letters, giving an appearance that it was cut apart with a knife or something. Adding to that eerie tone is the ominous look on the girl's face that is masked by the dark and only a portion of her face is showing. Above that, the tag line: "DANGER IS CLOSER THAN YOU THINK" - which I saw as a foreshadowing. Inside the book is an all black cover, and a royal blue font is on the side of the spine.

Moving on to my favorite aspects of the book: the intrigue, the drama, the way the characters were written, and the plot. Now, probably my only complaint is that the pacing was kind of slow in the beginning because did I forget to mention that the book is told in alternating perspectives: Kennedy Jones and Nolan Chandler are the two main leads and their dynamic is purely magic. Not magic as in wizards and potions, but their friendship is strangely goals.

Kennedy and Nolan are thrust together on this journey with one common goal: seeking the truth about what happened that changed their lives forever (I didn't want to give the main highlights of the story away).

Seriously, I don't have enough words in my arsenal to talk about how much I adored this book. Plain and simple, just go read it!

Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 Stars!

bottom of page