top of page

Roomies - Christina Lauren


Book Synopsis: From subway to Broadway to happily ever after. Modern love in all its thrill, hilarity, and uncertainty has never been so compulsively readable as in New York Times bestselling author Christina Lauren’s romantic novel.

Marriages of convenience are so...inconvenient. For months Holland Bakker has invented excuses to descend into the subway station near her apartment, drawn to the captivating music performed by her street musician crush. Lacking the nerve to actually talk to the gorgeous stranger, fate steps in one night in the form of a drunken attacker. Calvin Mcloughlin rescues her, but quickly disappears when the police start asking questions. Using the only resource she has to pay the brilliant musician back, Holland gets Calvin an audition with her uncle, Broadway’s hottest musical director. When the tryout goes better than even Holland could have imagined, Calvin is set for a great entry into Broadway—until his reason for disappearing earlier becomes clear: he’s in the country illegally, his student visa having expired years ago. Seeing that her uncle needs Calvin as much as Calvin needs him, a wild idea takes hold of her. Impulsively, she marries the Irishman, her infatuation a secret only to him. As their relationship evolves and Calvin becomes the darling of Broadway—in the middle of the theatrics and the acting-not-acting—will Holland and Calvin to realize that they both stopped pretending a long time ago?

 

Loved, with all my heart.

Before I get into the review, I just want to say that this is my second book that I've read by the author duo Christina Lauren... and I loved it even more than the first one I read by them.

The first book that I read by them is called My Favorite Half-Night Stand, while I did somewhat enjoy that book, I couldn't bring myself to review it because it was very graphic and crude in language and content.

Yes, I am an adult, but I don't think that book is what my blog readers want to know my thoughts about.

I'm so glad that I did read this book because it gave me another look at their writing and how much it needed improvement in their book published in 2018 rather than this book that was published in 2017.

My one thought that kept going through my mind while I was reading this: Wow, Calvin and Holland are made for each other!

I'm sure you'll have similar thoughts, or if you're a cynic probably very negative ones.

Spoiler alert... skip ahead if you don't want to know... Calvin said that the first thing that he noticed about Holland was her eyes. So romantic and so stinking cute. Why can't he be real? Joking aside, I'm just waiting to read every single book that Christina and Lauren write (I obviously will one of these days in the very near future.)

Obviously I fell head over heels in absolute love with this book and I think that it was a really quick read, if you are in a reading slump and don't know what to pick up next, I highly suggest this book.

Yes, that GIF is the Irish singer Ed Sheeran singing and Calvin is Irish too.

Holland and Calvin are so perfect for each other as I have mentioned, but it was a pretty much love at first sight for me, which I normally don't like, but it really worked out well in this novel.

I'm positive you'll enjoy this reading experience too, on a side note, I am looking for a book copy of this book, I do want to own it on my shelves. Maybe I will settle getting the e-book on my Nook, it all depends on how much I'm willing to spend. Fingers crossed for a good deal somewhere.

Go ahead and see for yourself. This was one of my favorites for 2019, I'm re-reading it again soon.

Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 Stars

bottom of page