top of page

The Chaos Of Standing Still - Jessica Brody


Book Synopsis: Ryn has one unread text message on her phone. And it’s been there for almost a year.

She hasn’t tried to read it. She can’t. She won’t. Because that one message is the last thing her best friend ever said to her before she died. But as Ryn finds herself trapped in the Denver International Airport on New Year’s Eve thanks to a never-ending blizzard on the one-year anniversary of her best friend’s death, fate literally runs into her. And his name is Xander. When the two accidentally swap phones, Ryn and Xander are thrust into the chaos of an unforgettable all-night adventure, filled with charming and mysterious strangers, a secret New Year’s Eve bash, and a possible Illuminati conspiracy hidden within the Denver airport. But as the bizarre night continues, all Ryn can think about is that one unread text message. It follows her wherever she goes, because Ryn can’t get her brilliantly wild and free-spirited best friend out of her head.

 

What do you get, when you pair up two total strangers in an airport during the holidays?

A recipe for a darn good book, that's for sure, bonus, it's written by Jessica Brody.

I've read every book by Jessica Brody (correction: I've read almost every one by Jessica Brody.) Still on my TBR list is Unremembered series, and The Geography Of Lost Things (currently reading), Better You Than Me and other books she has written in the past. Also, I have yet to read her new books, if she has any published yet.

Ryn and Xander, two people who work so well together on paper, and yes, I do believe that this novel should be made into a movie or film on Netflix.

Yes, that is a GIF from the show Sherlock with Benedict Cumberbatch.

Unfortunately I cannot make that happen, if I could, that would be awesome.

I discovered Jessica Brody books three years ago when I read her book A Week Of Mondays which I did review. When I found out that this book existed, I knew I had to read it. So I went to my public library and reserved it immediately, it took about a week to arrive and when it did, I was ecstatic.

This definitely tugged on my heartstrings and I did actually cry.

One of the other books that I have cried to was Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson and The Chaos Of Standing Still just really got to me too.

Honestly, I loved all of the references and especially could relate to the Doctor Who and Googling every question thing that Ryn had going on.

Although, Ryn is a flawed character, I admire her and appreciate the diversity that this book offers.

Still, there were things in this book that I didn't like, but overall, the good outweighs the bad and I just couldn't find it in my heart to rate it bad, (not that I would've anyway.) Could this book be any cuter? Maybe I should book a ticket for a flight somewhere, if it means meeting my Xander.

That GIF totally sums up my feelings about this book.

Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 Stars!

bottom of page