top of page

A Kiss In The Dark - Gina Ciocca


Book Synopsis: When the lights go out at a Georgia high school football game, Macy Atwood finds herself in the arms of a boy who kisses her senseless – but is gone by the time the lights come back on. All she knows is that there was something special – and oddly familiar – about her mystery kisser.

Noah Granger, Ridgedale’s resident bad boy and newest transfer student, has no problem taking credit for the kiss, but Macy can’t shake the feeling that he’s lying. Especially since a photograph of Macy and former star football player Joel Hargrove resurfaced online moments before the blackout, a not-so random reminder of how hard she fell for Joel last year. And how doing so ultimately sent her lifelong friendships with Meredith Kopala and Ben Collins up in literal smoke. Soon junior year’s wounds begin to reopen as Macy realizes the events that unfolded are somehow tied to her mystery kisser. Discovering how means finally facing what really went wrong with Meredith, Ben, and Joel – and finding out what Noah is covering up. But the closer Macy gets to figuring it all out, the more she starts to worry that the boy who kissed her in the dark and the boy who is stealing her heart might be two very different people.

 

Ugh. I know when I start out book reviews, that it could go one of many ways. This particular ugh, however is a negative one. I'm sorry to say that I didn't really like the book that much. Although this book was not my cup of tea, I will try to review it in the most unbiased way and not in a bad light either.

Macy Atwood, probably one of the lamest characters - I know I said I wasn't going to be so mean, but she was one of the worst offenders. In my opinion, Macy didn't even have a fighting chance, immediately, I knew that I wasn't going to love her.

Other people I ended up not caring for were Meredith, Joel, Noah, and oh did I forget to mention golden boy next door Ben?

Yikes, those happened to be all the major characters in the novel. Oh well, I guess it just isn't going to be a very positive review after all.

This is the second book that I've ever read from this author and I have to say that she is not the most eloquent writer nor does she win any awards in my book for even an honorable mention.

Gina Ciocca is not an author that I can stand behind and continue to support. Even though I wanted to give her a fair chance, she does not stand one. It's a shame that this book wasn't that much better in terms of star reviews from my viewpoint - this book deserves a three star rating and I'm definitely being more than a little bit generous.

What I liked about this book...

Without spoiling much of anything, I did like Macy's mom. She was nice, and maybe a redeeming quality to have included for critical readers like me.

Also, trigger warning: this book deals with slut-shaming, homophobia, and racism. Gee, if that doesn't dissuade you from reading this book, I don't know what will. A trifecta of epic disastrous proportions that is this book, and if you find pleasure in train wrecks, then step right on up - A Kiss In The Dark is a real winner.

Usually my reviews aren't that filled with dislike, or scathing, I tend to like books like these, except that this book was utter bollocks.

Nothing in this book made any sense, everything that happened was too convenient or too cookie cutter perfect. Two things that make a book a total failure in my eyes.

Unless certain things were to change, and if she had more time, I would definitely pick up this book again in the future, sadly I don't think that Gina will ever be re-writing this novel, unless to make a sequel that is hopefully better than this book.

Times like these makes me wish that events could have been changed, edited, fine-tuned or perhaps tweaked to be more cohesive and clever. Unfortunately, this was a book that needed more time and effort to be even considered something that I would like to read or anyone else that seemed to hate this book as much as I did.

Despite my review, I think that I am being kind and giving this book the honest and raw rating it so desperately deserves.

Do yourself a favor, and kindly skip this one, or if you're a glutton for punishment and mediocre writing then by all means, go ahead and read your heart out - I just wish that I could have two days of my life back that this book stole. Sorry if I was too cruel, if you didn't like my brutal review, please skip it, and read another kinder post with shining words and inspiring feelings.

Rating: ★★★☆☆ 3/5 Stars

bottom of page