top of page

The Light Between Worlds - Laura E. Weymouth


Book Synopsis: Five years ago, Evelyn and Philippa Hapwell cowered from air strikes in a London bomb shelter. But that night took a turn when the sisters were transported to another realm called the Woodlands. In a forest kingdom populated by creatures out of myth and legend, they found temporary refuge.

When they finally returned to London, nothing had changed at all—nothing, except themselves.

Now, Ev spends her days sneaking into the woods outside her boarding school, wishing for the Woodlands. Overcome with longing, she is desperate to return no matter what it takes.

Philippa, on the other hand, is determined to find a place in this world. She shields herself behind a flawless exterior and countless friends, and moves to America to escape the memory of what was.

But when Evelyn goes missing, Philippa must confront the depth of her sister’s despair and the painful truths they’ve been running from. As the weeks unfold, Philippa wonders if Ev truly did find a way home, or if the weight of their worlds pulled her under.

Content warnings are available via the author's website.

 

Wow, I think that we all can agree that the cover for the hardback edition is stunning!

This book is like Narnia or what happens after the magic is over and you're back home. Wishing. Wanting. Waiting. Just to go back to the Woodlands. As a kid, I have the fondest memories of going into a closet or armoire and imagining I was in Narnia. I'm sure a lot of kids have done the same. "Books are a uniquely portable magic." Although I don't know who said that quote, I wholeheartedly find myself in total agreement.

A book, well a good one, can take you anywhere you want to go.

This was one of those books that just hit the mark and was able to blow my mind.

My favorite character was Evie, as opposed to her sister Philippa and her dull brother Jamie. She was so desperate to travel back to the Woodlands and who could blame her. Evelyn felt at home there and she felt like she belonged.

If I had a choice to escape to Narnia or the Woodlands, I might too, but I would go home after. Fortunately, my reality is better than my fantasy.

Interestingly enough, I didn't like most of the characters and I ended up giving this book a high rating. Magical realism is something that I don't often read, but I will definitely gravitate towards it more in the near future.

Of course, I was experiencing nostalgia and I had to take a few moments and remember that this isn't Narnia, but it has those vibes and scenes where some of the magic sparks those emotions in you.

Actually, this book was recommended to me by a local librarian, but I have heard of it from watching a SuperSpaceChick video (I believe) on YouTube.

Honestly, I wonder if that was enough to sway you into reading this book. Take a chance and read it, you won't be regretting it anytime soon.

Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 Stars!

bottom of page