top of page

Last Year's Mistake - Gina Ciocca


Book Synopsis: Before:

Kelsey and David became best friends the summer before freshman year and were inseparable ever after. Until the night a misunderstanding turned Kelsey into the school joke and everything around her crumbled - including her friendship with David. So when Kelsey’s parents decided to move away, she couldn’t wait to start over and leave the past behind. Except, David wasn't ready to let her go... After: Now it’s senior year and Kelsey has a new group of friends, genuine popularity, and a hot boyfriend. Her life is perfect. That is, until David’s family relocates to the same town and he shakes up everything. Soon old feelings bubble to the surface and threaten to destroy Kelsey’s second chance at happiness. The more time she spends with David, the more she realizes she never let him go. And that maybe she never wants to.

 

This book is something that I would never have picked up on my own. I've never heard of this author before I found it through booktube aka YouTube. A lot of reviews were negative for this book, and I might agree with that consensus, but for the most part, my review is not that negative.

What I was reminded of when holding this book was that it was like one of Sparks books. One of the common jokes directed is that all or almost all of his covers feature people almost kissing or about to kiss.

All joking aside, this book was not what I was expecting, or anything even remotely close. I was hoping for a book with a touch of romance, but mostly spunk and a strong female lead. Instead, I got a novel that was poorly written and focused on girl on girl hate.

To say that I was disappointed was definitely true.

Was there any aspect of the book that I liked? Not really. Probably the only thing that I liked about the idea was that it flipped perspectives from different stages in the main characters lives. It made the concept fresh and interesting.

That's what made the book a one-star read from me.

Oddly enough, I did decide to pick up Gina Ciocca's other novels, currently, I am reading Busted and A Kiss In The Dark.

Here I am crossing my fingers and hoping for the best. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend this book personally, but if it sounds like something you'd be interested in or like, by all means, go ahead and read it. If not, you'd be better off skipping it all together. I would recommend reading Busted, it seems like it is going well so far, and I will post a review to come in the near future.

Rating: ★☆☆☆☆ 1/5 Stars

bottom of page