top of page

Heart Of Thorns - Bree Barton


Book Synopsis: In the ancient river kingdom, touch is a battlefield, bodies the instruments of war. Seventeen-year-old Mia Rose has pledged her life to hunting Gwyrach: women who can manipulate flesh, bones, breath, and blood.

Not women. Demons. The same demons who killed her mother without a single scratch.

But when Mia's father suddenly announces her marriage to the prince, she is forced to trade in her knives and trousers for a sumptuous silk gown. Only after the wedding goes disastrously wrong does she discover she has dark, forbidden magic—the very magic she has sworn to destroy.

 

This book came to me as a recommendation from one of my favorite local librarians and she said it reminded her of Sleeping Beauty, but not really a retelling.

Intrigued, I knew that I had to have it.  So, I borrowed it and read it almost immediately after.

Literally just finished this book a second ago and boy was it a lot to take in. 

A simple ugh can sum up my entire feelings on this book.  Honestly I thoroughly enjoyed the experience.  I've never really read fantasy that features witches or gwyrach.  Certainly it was so interesting to see the development of characters and how the world that Bree created is so intricate. 

What worked for me.  The journal.  Can't really say without spoiling, but it was a delectable twist and so much fun! 

Quin is probably my favorite.   He's the prince and swoon, he's so complex, yet so simple minded - I think readers will fall for him. 

Mia was my least favorite, next to her sister.  Really?  How can someone be so dense and not know who they are or their capabilities? 

This book is currently a trilogy but there might be more novels added in the future. 

Yes!  I cannot wait for the rest of the series to come out.  Super pumped, I have to thank my librarian for recommending this book.  What a great way to start the year off strong.   So far, I've read twenty some books this year and I'm nowhere near finished.  2019 will be a great reading year, I'm certain. 

Rating: 5/5 Stars!

bottom of page