top of page

The Great Christmas Knit Off - Alexandra Brown


The perfect seasonal tale of how laughter, friends and wacky Christmas jumpers can mend a broken heart. For fans of Trisha Ashley and Jenny Colgan. Book Synopsis: Heartbroken after being jilted at the altar, Sybil has been saved from despair by her knitting obsession and now her home is filled to bursting with tea cosies, bobble hats, and jumpers. But, after discovering that she may have perpetrated the cock-up of the century at work, Sybil decides to make a hasty exit and, just weeks before Christmas, runs away to the picturesque village of Tindledale. There, Sybil discovers Hettie’s House of Haberdashery, an emporium dedicated to the world of knitting and needle craft. But Hettie, the outspoken octogenarian owner, is struggling and now the shop is due for closure. And when Hettie decides that Sybil’s wonderfully wacky Christmas jumpers are just the thing to add a bit of excitement to her window display, something miraculous starts to happen…

 

If you don't know this already, I love to knit and crochet, and read of course. This was the perfect book for me to dive into.

Sybil, as you have read in the synopsis, is heartbroken after being left at the altar. Ouch. I'm not going to re-write the whole book synopsis, but you get the gist of the book.

Let's start off by saying, wow, what a sap Sybil is. Seriously, I have no sympathy for people like that. One redeeming quality about her is that she is super nice, even though she is a doormat.

Dr. Benedict Darcy and Hattie were probably two of my favorite people and they added something so sweet to this book and the quaint charming town of Tindledale.

I wish that I could one day visit a place like Tindledale, but I might need to learn to survive without cell service or wi-fi.

Honestly, the book was funny, but I couldn't get past that major character flaw. Although, I am going to continue this series because I do want to find out what happened to this crazy cast of characters.

Basil was a delight, it made me think of my own dog who is also named after a food item.

Bonus, there's even a knitting pattern in the back of the book, at least in the paperback copy I borrowed from the library.

Also, I just adored this novel because of what it represented and how to get up on your feet again after something so disastrous in life. Truly inspiring, even though this is a work of fiction.

Anyway, all I can say is read this book, if you happen to enjoy crafting, you'll definitely need to pick this up soon!

Keep calm and yarn on my fellow readers... until the next book review.

Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 Stars!

bottom of page