top of page

Five Feet Apart - Rachel Lippincott, Mikki Daughtry, Tobias Iaconis


Soon to be a major motion picture in March 2019! In this moving story that’s perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication—they can’t get within five feet of each other without risking their lives. Book Synopsis: Can you love someone you can never touch? Stella Grant likes to be in control—even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions. The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn’t care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he’ll turn eighteen and then he’ll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals. Will’s exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn’t feel like safety. It feels like punishment. What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?

 

I'll admit, I was a bit wary of this debut novel at first because of the "perfect for fans of John Green's The Fault In Our Stars". Seeing as I did not like that book at all, I decided to jump in anyway, because I just felt that I was going to like this book, regardless of the recommendation.

Immediately, I loved the book, the writing pace was nice and easy and the switching between perspectives was lovely too. Stella and Will were a breath of fresh air, no pun intended. (Sorry if that was in poor taste.)

This book did seem to be a bit realistic to me, but there were moments that I did not find to ever happen to me at least, thankfully. I had fun with Stella's attitude, sarcasm and control were her two biggest assets other than her singing voice. I couldn't imagine who they would cast in the movie version, but here's who they did cast: Cole Sprouse as Will and Haley Lu Richardson as Stella. Originally, I heard about this movie through Instagram, but I wasn't pulled in, until I found out that it was based on a book!

There was a bit of awkwardness, I've never read anything by Rachael Lippincott before, so I did not know what I was expecting. I'm glad that the theme did not romanticize illness, even though it is a love story between two teenagers with Cystic Fibrosis (CF).

I definitely needed a book like this, especially after reading If You Say So - written by Stephanie Allen which was confusing, and a pretty big let down. I rated it 3 stars, I will not be reviewing it on my blog. Overall, I did have a wonderful experience reading this book and will absolutely read more of Rachael Lippincott's works in the near future.

Side note: I can't wait for the movie! Fingers crossed that it will be good!

Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 Stars!

bottom of page