top of page

How To Bake A Murder (Cookie & Cream #1) - K.J. Emrick


Book Synopsis: “I can’t get a pulse. Cookie, call for an ambulance.” Definitely not the words you want to hear when a man has just collapsed in the middle of your bakery. A few minutes is all it took for Karen 'Cookie' Williams to be thrust into the center of a nightmare. A customer was dead and she was considered a suspect. Her beloved shop was a crime scene. Things weren't looking so great for her. If you add in the strange figure that was lurking around at night, the prominent businessman who was harassing her to sell up and an unhappy granddaughter who was spending the summer with her you had a recipe for disaster. Can Cookie work out who killed her customer and save her bakery from ruin before she becomes a victim herself?

 

I just finished reading this book and I was pleasantly surprised by how much I actually liked it. Although it was a short book, I definitely took my time reading it, not because it was bad, but because I've been so busy reading my other books.

My initial thoughts on this book: glad it's a series, who did it, and I wish I had something sweet to eat.

Cookie and Cream, I believe there was a game on the Playstation by the same name.

That's beside the point, anyway, back to the review. This is a series and a murder mystery. Lately, I've been digging these murder mystery novels that I can get for free on my Nook Glowlight Plus. They have become somewhat of a guilty pleasure, without the feeling of guilt though.

Hands down, my favorite part was when Clarissa started being nicer to her grandma, not really a spoiler, but it was still nice to read about.

This is the sort of book that makes you want to solve your own crime, hopefully not murder, maybe something smaller like who's stealing lunch at work.

Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 Stars!

bottom of page