top of page

Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas - James Patterson


Book Synopsis: Katie Wilkinson has finally found the perfect man - but one day he suddenly disappears, leaving behind only a diary written by a new mother named Suzanne for her baby, Nicholas. In it she intimately reveals the romance between herself and the child's father, her hopes for their marriage, and her unparalleled joy in motherhood. As Katie reads on, she realizes that the man she loves is Suzanne's husband. Now, filled with terror and hope, Katie must struggle to understand what has happened - and find out if her new love has a prayer of surviving.

 

This book was recommended to me by my aunt who loves to listen to audio-books in her car. She said that it was a really good book and that I should read it, so I listened to her and I did. I don't know if I could say that it was a really good book, but it was definitely sad - not enough to bring me to tears, but enough to make me gasp.

Kate Wilkinson just has found the perfect man, Matt Harrison - there's gotta be a catch, and there is! He's married! Soon, as one thing leads to another, you'll see that there's more to him than meets the eye, and he leaves a mysterious package out for Kate to find on her doorstep. In hopes of explaining himself, he gives her a diary - handwritten that tries to give Kate some backstory to this whole troubling mess.

It had a pretty good message - life is too short, to drop the glass ball, just live and be happy, your life can bounce back. I just didn't like the cheating, or almost-cheating, I'm not really sure if you can call it cheating... maybe there's a stronger word - unfaithfulness. If that doesn't bother you, go ahead and read this book, I found it to be really interesting, it's a short read, so you can either listen to it or read it. The choice is yours.

Rating: ★★★★☆

bottom of page