top of page

The Little Prince - Antoine de Saint-Exupery


Book Synopsis: Moral allegory and spiritual autobiography, The Little Prince is the most translated book in the French language. With a timeless charm it tells the story of a little boy who leaves the safety of his own tiny planet to travel the universe, learning the vagaries of adult behaviour through a series of extraordinary encounters. His personal odyssey culminates in a voyage to Earth and further adventures.

 

My younger cousin recommended this book to me. It's only about eighty pages or so, I sat down for about fifteen minutes and read it. This is one of the books that I've always wanted to read, yet never actually had the time to borrow it. Thankfully, she owns the book and lent it to me. Although the story was a bit confusing, I didn't mind the little doodles and the back story behind it. In high school, I took French and still use Duolingo from time to time to help me remember and learn the language.

The Little Prince is definitely a book that was on my book bucket list. My mom said that she didn't like the book because she found it confusing and strange. I agree with her to some extent, but not entirely. Yes, I thought the talking animals were bizarre, but the curiosity of the the prince overshadowed any part that I thought was a bit far-fetched.

Since I read this book a few weeks ago, it completely slipped my mind that I didn't write a review for it yet. I've never really rated a classic book like this before, but I hope that I can agree on a certain number of stars to give it. Here's to the future, I will read more classic novels, instead of the humdrum YA genre that I keep going back to.

Rating: ★★★★☆

P.S. They are making a movie! Can't wait to see it when it comes out!

bottom of page