top of page

A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird # 1) - Claudia Gray

I've always seen books as an escape, a way to travel without leaving wherever you're sitting. Yes! Time travel, but this book A Thousand Pieces of You is more about leaping through dimensions with an invention known as the Firebird. It can take you into any dimension in the multiverse (multiple universes). How cool! Can you even imagine that? Well, you don't have to imagine anymore, just read the book below...

Book Synopsis: Marguerite Caine's physicist parents are known for their groundbreaking achievements. Their most astonishing invention, called the Firebird, allows users to jump into multiple universes - and promises to revolutionize science forever. But then Marguerite's father is murdered, and the killer - her parent's handsome enigmatic assistant Paul - escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite refuses to let the man who destroyed her family go free. So she races after Paul through different universes, always leaping into another version of herself. But she also meets alternate versions of the people she knows - including Paul, whose life entangles with hers in increasingly familiar ways. Before long she begins to question Paul's guilt - as well as her own heart. And soon she discovers the truth behind her father's death is far more sinister than she expected.

A Thousand Pieces of You explores an amazingly intricate multi-universe where fate is unavoidable, the truth is elusive, and love the greatest mystery of all.

 

I am in awe. This book was amazing, and it's actually a trilogy. At first, when I heard the news that it was a series, I admit, I had mixed feelings. Part of me was overjoyed that I get to read another two books, but the other part of me said, "NO! Do not ruin this book by adding more books!" I'm a firm believer of less is more, and I thought that this book was perfect. I didn't crave a sequel, I felt that all the loose ends were wrapped up, well except for the evil lurking in the shadows - dying to be vanquished.

Marguerite is easily one of my favorite characters in all of the books I've read over the years. She's brave, smart, creative, and most importantly loyal. Her dynamic is so bold, her character is honest and she was what made this book so likable.

My only complaint was the subject of love. I am a sucker for love stories, but again, I felt that some parts weren't necessary and I wasn't too happy about the love-triangle that I saw forming.

Other than that, this book was flawless. It makes me wish that I had a Firebird locket to travel into other universes. I believe that readers will connect with Marguerite Caine and even live vicariously through her.

Rating: ★★★★☆ 4/5 Stars

bottom of page