top of page

Love & Gelato - Jenna Evans Welch


Book Synopsis: "I made the wrong choice." Lina is spending the summer in Tuscany, but she isn't in the mood for Italy's famous sunshine and fairy-tale landscape. She's only there because it was her mother's dying wish that she get to know her father. But what kind of father isn't around for sixteen years? All Lina wants to do is go back home. But then she is given a journal that her mom had kept when she lived in Italy. Suddenly Lina's uncovering a magical world of secret romances, art, and hidden bakeries. A world that inspires her, along with the ever-so-charming Ren, to follow in her mother's footsteps and unearth a secret that has been kept for far too long. It's a secret that will change everything Lina knew about her mother, her father - and even herself. People come to Italy for love and gelato, someone tells her, but sometimes they discover much more.

 

When I first picked up this book, I was instantly drawn to the cute cover. I mean who doesn't love gelato? They say you're not supposed to judge a book by its cover, but I am guilty as charged.

Let's start with what I disliked about the book. Nothing. Absolutely nothing. Everything about this novel felt so right. From page one I was transported straight into Lina's world. I was there with her as she traversed through the streets of Florence, ate Italian food, and discovered more about herself and her late mother as she fell in love.

It was difficult to part with this book. I'll be the first to admit, that I didn't want to face the reality that Lina and Ren were just characters in a masterfully crafted book. That's when you know a book is good - when you've reached the last page and you're heartbroken that it's over.

To be honest I practically devoured this book and finished reading it in one sitting.

If you don't fall in love with Love & Gelato, I would be very surprised.

Buon Appetito! Enjoy devouring this YA contemporary.

Rating: ★★★★★

bottom of page