top of page

Wicked Game - Jo Lambert


Book Synopsis: Fashion designer Thérèse D’Alesandro has recently moved into Westhead Manor with daughter Felicia and stepson Marco. Joining forces with neighbour Ella Benedict, she is about to open a bridal boutique at Ella’s exclusive wedding venue Lawns at Little Court.

Managing his father’s European restaurant chain, Marco has both the looks and charm to guarantee him any woman. Any woman, that is, except the one he wants: Ella’s niece Charlotte. Marco knows he should walk away as not only is she the most exasperating female he has ever encountered she’s currently in a relationship with rock star Christian Rosetti. But the chemistry between them is undeniable and sensing trouble brewing between Charlotte and the egotistical singer he is prepared to wait. Charlotte’s cousin Lucy has discovered Christian’s guilty secrets – ones he has been keeping safely hidden from everyone. Determined to cause mischief and at the same time settle her own score with the arrogant star, she sets in motion a chain of events which eventually brings Marco and Charlotte together. Thérèse’s husband Gianlucca has invited the granddaughter of an old friend to stay as a house guest while he undergoes heart surgery. Rossana Caravello is due to inherit the one of Italy’s premier vineyards on her twenty first birthday in September. Aware this would make an excellent addition to her husband’s international business portfolio, Thérèse plots to push the young heiress and her stepson together. Rossana is already besotted with Marco, but if the plan is to have any chance of success first she needs to get rid of Charlotte… Wicked Game was previously published under the title The Other Side of Morning.

 

Firstly, thank you to Rachel's Random Resources for allowing me to read this e-book for free in exchange for an honest review.

Wicked Game by Jo Lambert is hitting stores on January 7th, 2019.

What could be a more perfect way to ring in the new year than with a new book being published so early on. A great way to start this year is by reading a new book, and why not? Some people have resolutions to better their lives. You can kick off your year of resolution strong by reading this book.

I don't know what I was expecting when I first downloaded this book, even when I requested this book I didn't know what I was going to be getting into. Even though I did read the synopsis, I definitely was interested, the concept sounded unique to me and I wanted to know more.

What worked for me...

The characters, the setting, and the fact that it sounds like the plot of an episode for an exciting telenovela or an obscure soap opera on television. I've probably said this a lot in my other reviews, but it's true, I'm glad that I picked this book up and I'm sure if you do too, you won't regret it.

On the other hand... what really didn't work for me...

To be completely honest, I contemplated giving this book four and a half stars, but the reason that I didn't is because I found the story so compelling.

Except for the beginning of the story, I found it to be so confusing and dragging, I must've been on the same page for about an hour, that's how much I didn't want to continue, but I did anyway and I'm grateful that I stuck around - trust me the story does get better with time.

Do yourself a favor and read this book! Seriously, you won't want to miss out on Jo Lambert's writing.

Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 Stars!

bottom of page