top of page

I, Guinevere - C.K. Brooke


Book Synopsis: If you think you know the story of King Arthur and his mythical sword, think again. Your legends have it wrong. Here’s the truth: I was never married to Arthur, and he wasn’t a king. Because Arthur never pulled that sword out of the stone. I did. I, Guinevere. On the winter solstice, a mysterious sword in a stone appears in the churchyard. Not even the mightiest of the village men can remove it, until fifteen-year-old Guinevere gives it a try. The sword heeds the unsuspecting maiden, proclaiming the unthinkable: she is the blood of Pendrakon, heir to the vacant throne of Camylot. Guinevere never dreamed she was born royalty. Now, between apprenticing the eccentric wizard, Merlyn; swordplay lessons with an abrasive—albeit, attractive—boy named Lance; and clandestine, magical meetings with the formidable High Priestess of Avalon, Guinevere is swept up in a whirlwind of training and preparation for her monumental new role as future queen. But invasions by the barbarous Saxyns and visitations from mysterious dark forces continually warn that she may be in over her head. Can Guinevere defend the kingdom from the darkness and deception that threaten to seize it? Despite her doubts and the sinister forces working against her, can she harness the power to wield Exkalibur and rule the realm? Or is Camylot already destined to fall? From the unstoppable pen of C.K. Brooke comes a fresh and unforgettable new retelling seeped in Arthurian mythology. Queen Guinevere has her own tale to share, and it's nothing like what you thought! Experience the magic and myth of Camylot, Avalon, Merlyn, and Exkalibur like never before as, in the vein of Brooke's award-winning SECRETS OF ARTEMIS, this legendary maiden of lore recounts her side of the story.

 

Thank you to YA Bound Book Tours for allowing me to read and review this book for free in exchange for an honest opinion.

This was probably one of the quickest books that I've read this year, and it was enjoyable.

Let me explain... I think that this book can be best described as loosely based historical fiction, even though it is mythical.

I've never seen Guinevere really portrayed as being the lead in any of the Camylot adaptations that I've read and this was interesting enough to grab my attention.

It took me about an hour to read and review. My favorite character is definitely Merlyn, even though I did like Guinevere's spunk, I did tend to like scenes with Merlyn too. The other characters spoke in a way that did not seem to be so realistic, however, I think that the usage of old English is just what the story needed to work.

What if Guinevere was the one to pull Exkalibur out of the stone, what if it wasn't Arthur? Many people might not like the idea, but I thought it was a new take and I admired C.K. Brooke for having the guts to write something that is so familiar to mostly everyone who knows about the legend of Arthur.

I will definitely consider reading more novels from this author in the future and if you like magic and fantasy I think that this book is a perfect fit for you.

Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 Stars

bottom of page