top of page

Shore - Enrique Rosado


Book Synopsis: Lahar's life was regular- college, work, then binge watch whatever was in her queue. That is until she wakes up on a beach, with no idea how she got there. A young wizard named Arena, who has made a home by the mysterious shore, offers to help her home. With his massive dog and mystical creatures called Wisps, she studies under Arena's tutelage and tries to find a way back. Though mysterious forces lurk below the sand, clambering to make themselves whole, no matter the cost.

 

Thank you to YA Bound Book Tours for allowing me to read and review this incredibly cool e-book!

The first thing that caught my eye about Shore was the fact that the cover is so interesting. I’ve never seen anything like it and it’s just so unusual for a book to have such an eye grabbing cover. The second would definitely have to be the synopsis. Who wouldn’t want to read about a girl going on a magical adventure?

I have to admit that I don’t really read fantasy books, but I’ve made an exception for this one. What I loved about this book: the names. Lahar, Arena, Pyros “Pie”, it’s quite amazing how oddly appealing new names are especially when they are so special and unique. My favorite character would have to be Lahar. Yes, Pie comes at a close second, but I love reading books with a strong female lead. She has everything that I look for in a main character: strength, charm, and a killer personality, not to mention a pretty face and quite essential to the story-line.

What worked with this book: the first sentence just draws you in. You know that you’re in for a good story just from the first line. I was caught up hook, line, and sinker. Enrique's storytelling is so detailed and full of imagery that just made the words come to life, almost like watching a full length animated movie.

If my words aren't enough to convince you to read this, I don't know what is. Seriously: adventure, wizard, dog, and magic, what more could you possibly want to read about in a YA Fantasy novel?

Overall, my rating is clearly a positive one, I absolutely loved this book, and I'm sure that you will too.

Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 Stars

bottom of page